Life at 50mm

By Stevie378

Walsall Panorama - at last ! !

What has happened to the weather ?? - I'm certain I was exposed to all four seasons at some time or other during todays walk . . . . .

Anyway - I thought I'd head over to Rough Wood this afternoon, as the tree cover would offer a little shelter from the wind and rain. Sheltered I was, but trees and bluebells aren't really my thing, so my photos were rather disappointing.
In the event I managed a few half decent shots.

This evening I was sat at home, deciding which photo to Blip, when I noticed that the sun was shining over the town - perfect for the panorama I've been trying to capture over the last few weeks, without much success. The Last One I Took was OK, but I wasn't happy with the sharpness - it was ever so slightly out of focus, which isn't a problem when looking at the shot as a whole, but ruins things once zoomed 100%

I fitted the 70-200 lens onto the 5D, set it at 200mm and fired away - 8 shots. Looking at the camera's preview screen I was quite happy with my handiwork, so I uploaded them to the Macbook and went to work with PTGui . . . .

Soooo - Todays blip is the resulting image - I was lucky enough to get the focus just right ( amazing really, as the shots were all hand-held ) - and I didn't need to crop or rotate too much until I got what I wanted.

The image you see here is much reduced in size - to view the full sized image go - HERE . . . . . Be warned - it is rather large, but I'm very happy with the amount of detail that the 70-200 has captured . . .

1/160" : f11 : 200mm : ISO400 . . . . . composite of 8 images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.