Canal du Midi

at Castelnaudary...

Today's adventure in painting challenges was an outing to Castelnaudary...where we spent a lovely sunny day attempting to capture the image of boats, boats and more boats...

To start the day, my personal challenge was to remain calm and collected. I had taken one of the big water jugs for painting out of the van and put it into my carry-all bag along with my old pocket camera, art supplies, travel journal and sketch book.... I know, I know..I should have foreseen what could happen but I didn't...When I found a place to sit and sketch, and opened the bag..yikes..water, water everywhere...Geez..what was I thinking? Well, I was thinking that a screw-top lid would not leak...wrong! Let the drying out begin..

So the day's adventure began by sitting at a picnic table with everything spread out in the sun..the pocket camera luckily rescued out of a wet camera case just in time......the books only slightly wet on the edges...not the disaster it could  have been...And as I had my journal with me in case of some spare time, I was able to get it up to date before continuing on with the sketching...Always a silver lining... 

A very hurried and unsuccessful sketch...and then home to get ready for a lovely dinner at a small cosy little fish restaurant up the street - another weekly ritual..for a delicious dinner.

I came home with a quote I liked - written on the back of the barge "Vagabond"...

"Si tu crois que l'aventure est dangereuse, essaie la routine, elle est mortelle!" Paulo Coelho

Tomorrow? Rest day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.