Guadeloupe

Our excitement knew no bounds this morning as we were booked onto the Death in Paradise tour. Well if I’m honest I was less enthusiastic than Mr PHL as he has watched every episode. Breakfast in the buffet was a little hectic but necessary from a timing point of view.

Our tour guide Maura was a huge fan of the show which is apparently available in more than 230 countries around the world so she was bursting to tell us the good news that as we are the last ship of the season, filming on the next season will begin in the next couple of weeks so we were in for a treat as they had started building the Inspector’s beach shack.,

I had a quick paddle in the sea, very lovely it was too but as I’d neglected a towel my toes were a little sandy the rest of the day.

The tour was interesting as I hadn’t realised Guadeloupe was composed of 2 islands and we spent most of the time on the teardrop shaped part of Bas terre which is where the filing locations are. We saw the police station in Sant Honaire (normally the church presbytery) and had a drink (and managed a seat) in Catherine’s bar (a restaurant in normal use). We hadn’t realised that we’d spend an hour and a half on another beach but luckily there was a bar we could sit in as we’re not really sandy beach people.

We tried to find somewhere local for lunch in the town centre near the port but oddly couldn’t find anywhere so headed back to the shop for a light lunch.

Found out that there will be a choir on the sea crossing days so I’m going to pop along for that as I like a sing song. Hopefully my voice will pass muster.

Teatime quiz was fun and as Mr PHL was with me we scored 16/20 with the winner scoring full marks.

Dinner in the Italian restaurant again as there was a queue for tables in the main restaurant. I volunteered to take part in the evening game show- Back to School - which was great fun. There should have been 4 contestants but I think everyone is still shy so it here we’re only 2 of us. My opponent was quite gregarious and great fun and we fought a close run game which ultimately he won, gaining a pair of branded flip flops for his trouble.

Mr PHL called it a night at that point and I headed to the theatre to watch the late show of soul and Motown classics.

Late to bed and no opportunity to join in TinyTuesday this week. I did really like this sunset blip of the clouds over the island as we headed north to Antigua.,

Thanks for your kind comments, I’ll respond in time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.