Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cherry blossoms

My hay fever saga continues. There are quite a few brands of antihistamine pills on the market, and the drugs in them all differ so much. Piriton (chlorphenamine maleate) and Piriteze (cetirizine hydrochloride) both cause drowsiness, which affects me badly. Clarityn (loratadine) which I bought yesterday, is great as it does not cause drowsiness but I discovered to my detriment after I took a pill today that it contains lactose. It did not have lactose included in the ingredients on the outside of the box, I did check that before I bought it. So today I went back to the pharmacy, and after researching the various products I found there is one version of Benadryl that does not contain lactose, but it causes drowsiness. I explained my dilemma to the pharmacist that I needed something that does not cause drowsiness nor have lactose in it, and he was a bit stumped - the problem is that you have to open the box to find out what is included in the ingredients as the manufacturers do not publish it on the outside of the box. The pharmacist was very helpful and googled some pharmaceutical website and suggested I take Allevia (fexofenadine hydrochloride), which apparently is now available for the first time without a doctor's prescription, and he says it is very good. So tomorrow I will try that, my tummy will soon know if there is any lactose in it that the manufacturer has not disclosed. 

In addition to my pharmacy trip I had ladies golf clinic this morning, it was chilly but I had dressed accordingly. We practiced bunkers and pitching shots. 

On my way to the pharmacy I stopped off to photograph this cherry tree, it is one of the best around here. Unfortunately it is surrounded by houses so you cannot get an uncluttered shot of it, but I love the way it is so full of blossoms.

Tonight I was meant to go to book club but our hostess cancelled today as she has shingles. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.