Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Yellow tulips

I knew it would be hard to have an early night last night. Book club was great fun and our host made the most delicious quiches using gluten free pastry, it has been years since I last was able to eat quiche. I got home at 11.45pm and by the time I had a bath and got to bed it was a very late night!

Then up very early this morning to drive to Norfolk. We left promptly by 7am and had an easy journey to Norfolk. On the way I wanted to stop off and see some tulip fields that I had seen photos of on a Norfolk social media site. It was a slight detour of 20 minutes off our route, and when we got there I was disappointed to see that the tulips were all over. The rain and wind had blown most of the petals off the flowers. At first I felt upset for the poor farmer but then I realised that most tulip farmers grow them to sell the bulbs, so the flowers don't really matter. Still, the scenes of coloured fields that existed only last week did not exist today. 

We saw many fields of rapeseed on our journey. I read somewhere that since the Ukraine war started and the negative effect it has had on sunflower oil supplies, many local farmers were growing rapeseed again, and I can see evidence of this as there are many more fields of rape all around us this year. It was raining when I took the photos of the rapeseed fields so they are a bit grey and mizzly (see extra) but I will try to take some more during the weekend.

The rain stopped and it had been sunny for the rest of the day, but there has been a very strong and cold wind all day, So strong that Gavin was not able to take the dinghy out to do a bit of sailing. I took Xena for a walk down to the Staithe while Gavin was working and it was so cold and windy, her ears nearly blew off her head and she was shivering!! It was not enjoyable so we came back home again. I think it will be windy all weekend :(

Tonight we plan to start watching A Gentleman in Moscow. We both have read the book which we thoroughly enjoyed, and I am sure the new TV series will never be able to live up to that marvellous book. It has been years in the making, we first heard about it before the pandemic so it's good that it has finally been filmed and can now be seen. 

I have just had two notifications of a good aurora borealis in this area for tonight - they are lucky with good sightings here in north Norfolk, I saw images of sightings from tow days ago that were stunning. I won't be going out for it - I am too tired and am truthfully not that bothered by seeing the aurora.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.