Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Trees trees wonderful trees.....

I got going on making trees for the N scale layout.  Since the scene is western Colorado, a fir/pine tree seems the best.  I use a tree machine I got from the McKensie Tree guys.  Unfortunately, they no longer sell them.  To make a tree you have two wires next to one another.  They are held very taught.  Then I put short 1 1/2" pieces of rope twine and spread them apart.  Once the line is full - about 30", I start spinning a handle that spins up the two wires.  As they spin the fibers become a bottle brush.  I cut the wire off the machine and then clip out each to my scale height.  Then trim each to a Christmas tree sort of shape.  The extra shows a few ready for paint and flock.

Today I spray each tree and then roll it in fine green flock from Scenic Express.  The fine turf sticks to the wet paint.  A couple of knocks off the excess and you have a tree.  Tomorrow I will shot each with some cheap non-odar hair spray, and add a tiny bit of brighter flock that represents new growth.  Then they are ready for the layout.  I am landscaping a part of the layout that will be hard to work on once buildings are built in front of them.

I made 48 trees from start to finish in about 4 hours.  Considering what model trees cost at the hobby store I think it worth my time. And relaxing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.