Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Campus Cats

Every Tuesday morning this semester I have had Writing Center duty starting at 10:30 and staying till after the lunch hour at 1:40. While I was there today the construction crew seemed to surround the building with CATs. So what's a girl to do? Well, a "Blipfoto" girl knows to take her little point and shoot camera out of her Levi pocket and start clicking.

I'm sure the students thought I was crazy. Since January when I joined Blip, several people have most likely thought I'm a little off the path, and I am--as I side-step, back-up, turn a little, point, aim, and shoot.

But look at how close that tractor is to our window. Just to the right of the window is an emergency door. So that is where the second photo was captured. Then a couple hours later as I left my office and walked toward the parking lot, the demo guys and their CATs were just on the other side of the Library building from my office and just around the corner from the Writing Center. So I positioned my camera and shot through the chain-link fence.

I think it would be fun to get to climb up into one of those CATs to see the world from that angle. It would even be more fun to really know how to operate one of those machines.

I am amazed at all the demolition these guys are doing. I knew they were going to demo the area where the new building will be constructed, but I had no idea they were going to tear-up all the curbs, sidewalks, and green lawn just outside the Library. This is strange. We were told last Thursday that fewer classes are going to be offered to save money--they won't have to hire as many part-time instructors to teach. The six week winter session--from January to mid-February--has been cancelled.

But somewhere, somehow there is money for buildings. I know if I were a high finance person I'd understand all of this. The funds obviously come from different piggy banks. But it seems like offering classes is much more important than building buildings.

To change scenes, we took a quick drive to Orange County this evening to spend a couple hours at "Scott's Open Mic Night" at Java Joe's in Yorba Linda. We haven't been there since January, so it was fun to see everyone. We arrived back home in time to watch a special TV program about "Life in the White House."

Our Tuesday is just about over. I'm going to bed with visions of CATs in my head. I hope that produces sweet dreams.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.