Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

District

A post-work excursion up the Airedale line to Gargrave brought me to another local district level cup game: a semi-final of the Craven FA Challenge Cup between last year's beaten finalists, Rolls FC and Settle United. Both teams currently play in the Premier Division of the East Lancashire League.

The game was hosted by Gargrave FC,  with the football ground next to the cricket club on the edge of town, and it was certainly a pleasant spot to spend a sunny evening.

It was a very even game and ended goalless, with Rolls (their name comes from their origins as the works team for the Rolls Royce plant at Barnoldswick) winning the penalty shootout 5-4.  I should own up that I ducked out a couple of minutes before the end, as trains are scarce on that line and getting home for 9.30 seemed more sensible than not returning until 10.45. My agents at the game were able to update me on the score though. Hopefully I can make the final of this competition, as I did last year, but that will depend on which neutral venue that choose to play it, as evening public transport in Craven is sketchy to say the least.

Earlier, a sunny spot in the park had attracted Speckled Wood, Orange-tip, Comma and Small Tortoiseshell - it was nice to see four species together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.