Alnwick Gardens

I decided, reluctantly, to contribute to what must be one of the most lucrative tax-evasion schemes in the country, by buying an annual pass to the Duchess’s Garden. This was partly funded by EU money (of course the Duke was a Vote Leave person with big posters to that effect on his land) and enjoys “charitable” status despite the whole thing being returned to the pair after a certain number of years.

£60 poorer (but I did decline to gift aid) I enjoyed a morning admiring the cherry blossom. An expensive blip! But as I bought the most expensive ticket it means I have a pass for a year and can take one other adult and 4 children with me in that price. We are having a lot of friends visiting this year so I’ll take them, especially those who aren’t able to walk far. Expect many future blips from this location!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.