Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Black and White

I decided that I wanted to get this black and white blip done - so once again, I stayed up until well after midnight - in fact, until 1.00 a.m. to get this photograph of the moon on the sea. It was beautiful and perhaps if I had had a better camera, it would have been stunning, but it does prove to me that there is nothing quite like my own eyes to see things - yes, a camera is great for taking something I can look at again and again, but my own eyes have served me well for over three score years and I hope they continue to do so. I just stood and enjoyed the sight and it was truly amazing.

The moon was wonderful and I think it was almost full, so it was really beautiful looking out and seeing it reflected in the sea. In fact, it was probably warmer standing on the balcony at 1.00 a.m. than it had been during the day!

I don't know much about the moon - must speak to my son about this because he knows much more than I - but I have learned that the moon is illuminated because it reflects the light from the sun and the part of the moon facing the sun is lit up.

Woodlands Junior School has a very readable about lots of things and the moon is no exception, and it is written in my sort of language i.e. not that technical!

When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
which you have set in place,
what is mankind that you are mindful of them,
human beings that you care for them?
You have made them a little lower than the angels
and crowned them with glory and honour.
Psalm 8 : 3-4
New International Version

Can't stop to write more as I have a friend staying and we are off to do our Christmas shopping in Bournemouth - well it is only 7 months until Christmas Day!!

Enjoy your long weekend, UK blippers, and your weekend for those in other parts of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.