Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Self Portrait

Those of you who have got to know me over the last few months will realise I like to go from the "sublime to the ridiculous" and today is no exception.

As I have an iPhone, it's not difficult to take a self portrait - but it's difficult to take a GOOD self portrait - so thought I would add a twist.

Having had a Fasting Day yesterday, I detoxed my body and also had a spiritual Fast Day so today was the day to do something about my face! Well, there's not a lot you can do with your face is there, especially when one is of mature years? However, some months ago, I bought a 5 Minute Thermal Detox Mask, which is "a warming charcoal treatment for perfectly clean and purified skin" - so I thought that if I left it on for 15 minutes I would get 3 times the benefit.

Having finished showering and de-masking, I have just read the instructions on the pack (typical me - wade in and do it and then read the instructions - anyone else out there like that?) and it says "Massage a THIN layer of the mask over the face and neck" - mistake number 1 then - mine was rather thick - the thinking being, the thicker the better!

The second instruction said "Allow to warm (which it does miraculously when you put it on your face) and cool naturally while you relax for 5 minutes." Does cleaning the bathroom while you have a face pack on constitute "relaxing" - probably not!

Mr HCB came into the bathroom and asked if I had had my shower, saw my face, and nearly fell over! Well, we might have been married for 45 years, but there are some things you don't let your beloved see - and wearing a face mask, and a grey one at that, is in that category.

I eventually rinsed off the mask with warm water, under the shower and it has to be said that the skin on my face does feel smoother, perfectly clean and purified.

One of my favourite songs is Purify My Heart - which actually is much more important than a clean and purified face!

Have a great day - after all, it is Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.