Paladian

By Paladian

Pure Gold

It's been such a wonderful day.

Training went so well today - I did a 2000 metre test on the rower, and beat my old time by a whopping 22 seconds. So my new best time for this season is 9 minutes flat - that's a pace of 2 mins 15 secs per 500 metres. Which won't mean swat to most people, but if you've even been on an indoor rower, you might understand.

But this afternoon was the very best ever. Last week when we were in town we went to the museum, and I spotted a book called Fleurieu Birds by Peter Gower. It's the BEST purchase I've ever made on local birds, and if you live in South Australia, and like the Fleurieu - then do buy it.

It lists all the places in our part of SA where you get to see the best bird life. I bet you didn't know that we have a whopping 231 species within 75 km south of Adelaide.

So, one of the places listed for bird spotting is the Laratinga Wetlands at Mt. Barker. That's the place where the Rower was born, and we do go up there quite a bit. But we've never been to the Wetlands before. They were created in 2000 to filter the water from the Mt. Barker effluent works. They have made 11 ponds. What a place. DesertP , my dear, it's a "must go to" place the next time you visit Adelaide.

We were blown away by the birds - so exciting. So here's my pick for today - A White Plumed Honeyeater (Lichenostomus pencillatus). A newbie for BlipBigYear.

Whiter than white

We might go back tomorrow - it's only a 25 minute drive from our place. Woohoo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.