Paladian

By Paladian

I am not a nag

No, I'm not. But we had such a wow of a time yesterday at the Laratinga Wetlands, I coerced cajoled the Rower to go up there again this morning after the Farmers' Market. It's only 25 minutes away. Hardly any distance at all.

And I struck gold AGAIN. This time, I got a Australasian grebe - way, way in the distance. But what a cute little grebe it is, even though it's got its neck well tucked down.

Absolute cuteness

The Australasian Grebe (Tachybaptus novaehollandiae) is a small waterbird common on fresh water lakes and rivers in greater Australia, New Zealand and on nearby Pacific islands. At 25-27 cm (9.8-11 in) in length, it is one of the smallest members of the grebe family. It is an excellent swimmer and diver, and usually dives immediately when alarmed and swims away under water.

Hopefully a little later in the year, I can get one in breeding plumage which is much more attractive. This image is definitely in non-breeding plumage, but another one for THE list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.