Dino-Peepstravaganza! A Dancing Girls Adventure!

Come dancing!
The triumphant return of the Dancing Girls!

We had just gotten back from a big backpacking adventure, in which we were nearly accidentally incinerated in the woods. I have to tell you that nothing like that has ever happened to us before, and we were a little bit flipped out by the whole experience.

We'd talked about going to Altoona for an amazing Eat 'n Park breakfast, but after getting back home after being gone for two days, we just didn't feel like going far. So we settled for a Friday of running a few errands in town and eating out.

At the Dollar Tree, my husband discovered Easter candy and decorations selling for a quarter apiece. So I picked out three pink Dino-Skinz (as they are called), each of which has an Easter egg in it, with two tiny Smarties candies inside each egg.

Then he went to Giant while I went to Weis. At Weis, I discovered the two Peeps mystery eggs you see above, one in pink and one in blue, selling for $1.50 apiece. Of course, I had to have them! At Weis, I also picked up a potted plant ($16) which, as you might have guessed, was fuchsia! And so now I have a whole summer's supply of Dancing Girls on hand. YEEHAW!!!!

Now, some of you who are latecomers to the game do not know this, but years ago, there were Dancing Girls who appeared in many of my Blips. Coincidentally, their first Blip posting featured them sitting on dinosaurs!

In one of their first adventures, they tamed the Jeweled Stag. With the Jeweled Stag, they discovered a Sacred Antler. They fought dragons and took on Storm Troopers, investigated a tomb of ancient mummies, and hung out with Disney princesses.

They grew up, became independent, and got their first apartment. I told on these pages the tale of how the Dancing Girl got her crown. They even stayed for Christmas one year, and I made a book out of their adventures that time: The Dancing Girl Who Came for Christmas.

Oh, and how I cried that day the Dancing Girl finally had to leave us. It may help you understand more about why, if I tell you that my very first cat that was really my own cat - a thing I coveted practically more than life itself! - was a huge orange boy named Gremlin. . . . and I cried every morning for two years after he died.

So those are a few reminiscences. The last time I had a potted fuchsia, I still had an office at Penn State, where I kept the plant when the season turned cold. I don't have an office anymore. I don't have a job. I don't even have a cat. But now, at least, I have Dancing Girls!

As it turns out, these mystery eggs contained two Peep bunnies, one yellow and one purple. So now we have a complement of colors for this festive post-Easter Dino-Peepstravaganza! And what a celebration it was, as we welcomed the return of the Dancing Girls!   <3

Welcome home, Dancing Girls!!!
May this be the first of MANY grand adventures!

My soundtrack song can only be this one: the Kinks, with Come Dancing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.