Looking wealthy

Not really!!! 

I mixed day. The job of delving into neglected spaces produces unexpected finds. B produced two little plastic bags containing 1p and 2p coins. I think that this is a man thing, as he didn’t  like pockets full of coins and each night used to empty out the small change and put it in the drawer in the bedside table. This collection must predate the Covid pandemic, as he uses plastic these days. I supply him with two £1 coins each week to pay for the U3A table tennis session, and he has a tenner in his phone case for emergencies!!! 

The collection comprises of 65 pennies and 51 two pence pieces, a total 116 coins, value …..£1.67 …… hardly buy anything these days. But weighs a ton!! Well not really…… 1lb 5ozs, a heavy addition to any handbag. The equivalent in 5 higher value coins weighs one and a quarter ounces.

We had a sad event at lunchtime. I won’t go into detail, but Amber killed the baby blackbird that had ventured out of the nest for the first time. I found it on the ground when I heard mum in distress. I put Amber in the house, but she was inadvertently let out a short while later. The next time I went out things were quiet and much to my horror mum was lying on the ground having recently been killed. It was awful. Amber knew that she was in trouble, I was so angry and distressed. 

I needed out of the house, so I went into Lincoln with B to make another delivery to the charity shop. Only to discover that they weren’t taking any donations today as they were overloaded and short of staff. I was not a happy bunny to say the least. I did manage to offload a small box of clothing to the smaller charity shop next to Tesco’s. Better than nothing. 

Home to do a bit of weeding in the front garden, something that I had control over and could get done. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.