If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Goldfinch ( Carduelis carduelis )

The day was too wet to carry on any work at the Lodge, so a quiet day round home.  Doing little other than relax.  When I think I am likely to use a bird shot I leave the camera with the long lens on ready near the window.

Recently visits by the Goldfinches have been few and far between.  So I was lucky to see this one feeding on the Nyjer seed.  Currently, only the Goldfinches seem interested in the Nyjer, so I put very little in the feeder.  As a food, it is high in oils 30-40% and protein 10-25%.

The shot is probably a female.  The sexes are very hard to distinguish unless in the hand (as a ringer).  My judgment is based on the fact males tend to have the red extending beyond the eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.