Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Naomi's Landing

I took myself off up to Rugeley for a good walk, having missed out on opportunities over the last couple of weeks.  Catching the train at 7:46 I was walking just after 8:00 down to the Trent and Mersey Canal using it to loop around to the north of Cannock Chase, before heading across to Brocton and then onto the Chase before meeting up with L who was riding Dice.

This was one of the more unusual scenes on the walk.  On researching this, apparently Naomi's Landing has its own FaceBook page and the dummies are regularly changed into different costumes to reflect the time of year.

Other firsts of the year were three families of ducklings (extra) at various points along the canal and the first swallows catching insects on Tixall Wide.

In the end I completed 14 miles taking 5 hours including breaks.  I even got a phone call from my usual walking partner who had passed me in his van on the A34 as I neared the end of the walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.