CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Where is my food?

I was eating some toast with some soup at the dining table when I looked up and out through the sliding doors. The Great Spotted Woodpecker was back, I had my camera in front of me, and the doors were partially open.

Without altering the settings I quickly squeezed off a couple of shots as it clung to the suet feeder, which was empty. As it hopped around to the other side, showing its back to me, I slowly stood up to be ready for when it flew away to the bottom of the garden. But even with care I made too much noise, or else it spotted my movement, and it was off. I did try to track it and managed a couple of shots with its wings fully extended, showing the range of spots along its wings and two prominent bright red circles facing backwards like traffic lights.

Sadly those images were soft and blurred; not good enough to blip. So my quest for a good flying woodpecker must continue. This picture isn't great either but will do, as it shows its poise and its decorative feather patterns. I've had to crop this picture enormously and you can still see the yellow of the fading tulip petals I was hiding behind. But I expect you can imagine how pleased I am to have this beautiful bird as a regular visitor, throughout the seasons. Having finished my lunch, I went and filled up the feeder with more suet pellets so it won't be disappointed next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.