Got The Message...

So, we were all primed for the Emergency Alert Message Test at 3pm and set up the phones ready to receive, mark, learn and inwardly digest.

At 2.59pm Mr Flum's sounded the alarm signal but I had to wait until fully 3pm for mine - I reckoned he would have been halfway out the door while I sat spinning, or whatever, in blissful ignorance. 

Then the text came through, displayed slightly differently on our screens but I also received the option not to receive further alerts, which strikes me as very strange. So he could be toiling in the garage while I dash off to safety. A voice then told us the purpose of the alert.

I think certain amendments need to be made before the system goes live, especially the voice used - DO NOT give me an American accent in a British alert situation, plain Oxford English will do nicely.

But it worked, so that's ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.