More learning?

I must admit that, after Autumn, I tend to not look at/for it.  We bought it years ago (Just checked Jul '15) never seen it get any bigger - BUT - it valiantly refuses to die.

Purchase - logged, but not Blipped.

Came as a shock to our system(s) to discover it was a relative of the annual Nasturtiums , or as a really ancient Cumbrian would label them  "Storshins"

Tropaeolum speciosum is, obviously, both perennial and determined.  I saw it and thought - as it appears to come out of the ground at a slightly different spot each year, I'd better hand scalp the immediate locale and check for its leader.

Immensely gobsmacked to find that yon, apparently dead stalk, was "it", the new growth rising from it.

NOW, of course, I have to watch at 'backend' to see if it's truly 'herbaceous' or merely partly so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.