Sebulon

By sebrose

Caribbean Croft

I’m on the 9:30 train to King’s Cross. Which is on time. Even the GWR to Bristol is punctual.

I check into my AirBNB in a quiet residential area right next to Cabot Circus. My host, Ana, is from Gran Canaria. She’s been in Bristol for six years for no particular reason. One morning she woke up and decided it was time to leave the Canaries. She picked Bristol, despite not knowing anyone here. Go figure.

I join Fran and Steve at the conference hotel bar. They manage to extend their booking at the Caribbean Croft to cope with me and Chris O. It’s a great meal - spicy and exotically different - I even add a side of boiled green bananas!

The one page menu is complemented by a fifteen page rum menu. Steve and I both chose a rum, but their pricing strategy is aggressively biased towards doubles rather than singles. Served over ice and lime. Delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.