Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Little bells

Today the forecast was for rain all day, so I was pleasantly surprised that we had a sunny morning. I walked Xena wearing a raincoat as I was expecting rain, but we had a dry walk. After the walk I had a dentist appointment, and I know of a small bluebell wood near to the dentist so I set off earlier to go see if the bluebells there were out yet. They were blooming but not at their peak yet, and I took a few photos before hurrying off to the dentist.

I had a long dentist appointment, a very thorough hygienist appointment followed by a check up with the dentist. This was followed by grocery shopping, and I only got home at 2.30pm so it was a late lunch for me today.

I spent most of the afternoon finalising arrangements for our holiday to South Africa in August, and then typing up an itinerary for everyone. I also started working on my camera club committee minutes for our upcoming meeting next week - bits of of I can do in advance. 

We had rain and quite a lot of thunder this afternoon, poor Xena got such a fright she scuttled under my desk where she remained for quite a while. 

I am thoroughly enjoying my current read, it is the debut novel by Alice Winn called In Memoriam. It is set during World War I, and while I have read many books about that war I have never before read it described in such a visceral and raw manner. It was such a horrific and ghastly war, reading it over 100 years after the event it makes me wonder why those in charge were not tried for crimes against humanity, so many of the soldiers were children, being under the age of 16. It is not all gloom and depressing, it is quite humorous too and I highly recommend it.

Tonight is our last print competition of the year for our camera club. I also have to hand in my six prints for the exhibition judging. We still have one more competition which is always the set subject competition and this year the subject is Movie Titles - that is coming up in a couple of week's time, and will be on zoom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.