Anthems

I am not one for these challenges usually, but seeing other Blippers' posts drifting in during the day gave me lots of pleasure. 

Thanks to you all, and especially host Jen. 

I  had plenty of subject matter scattered around the house, including wine and Armagnac, but neither of those get opened on Mondays. Slippery slope, etc...

Books got my nod in the end. I was an avid reader of Asterix for a long time, and eventually outgrew it when I was about 55. 

I think I have read everything Saint-Exupéry published - a short life, so a short list. Vol de Nuit is probably my favourite.  

Eva Joly was a distinguished French judge who took on corruption cases such as the Elf Aquitaine fraud one which brought death threats against her. She ran for President in 2012 and went on to become an MEP.

As for La Marseillaise, I am not an anthem fan but as it typifies the republican spirit, I do make a bit of an exception for it. 

I felt I had to post a music clip too, so if you are prone to ear worms do not click on the link...

Pomplamousse

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.