The long wait

Somehow, Ottawacker Jr. usually manages to be the last one out of his class: the claim is that he helps put things away, but the suspicion is that it is a last 5 minutes of kicking the ball around or trading Pokemon cards. Pretty soon it will be a fumble behind the bike sheds or a self-made roulette wheel in the woodwork class, so I suppose I should be grateful.

A mixrd bag od a day - got a little work in and did it in the morning, but then spent much of the rest of the day on the phone with Visa trying to bypass a "Verified by Visa" screen that keeps on popping up when I try to buy conditioner for my hair. Only on line, mind, if I got off my arse and went to the shops there'd be no problems. Or, as Mrs. Ottawacker says, if I got a haircut. Everyone is a critic.

The Visa people were less help than usual. Ultimately, some places want a second layer of safety when you purchase on line, and insist on sending a code via a text message. This is all well and good - but I refuse to give the Visa people my cell number. I claim I haven't got one (well, I haven't, I use Mrs Ottawacker's). One hour and 15 minutes to discover I was dealing with a trainee who couldn't read. Honestly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.