Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Morning song

This morning was mega beautiful.  I got up at 5 o'clock and took myself off you-know-where.  There was still frost on the ground but the sun got rid of that fairly quickly.  Turning left through the gate the first section I came to was alive with warblers.  In the last week they've all flown in from their winter retreats and their song was whiffling through the reed beds.  This is how the Wildlife Trusts describe it online:

A great mimic, the male sedge warbler introduces random phrases into its repertoire, never singing the same song twice; he attracts more mates the more phrases his song has.

Of course the place was empty of humans at that time so I walked very gently and softly and when I heard a particular enclave of them I stopped.  That's how I got this close.  I have never been this near a sedge warbler before.  So thrilled!

I also thought he was a shoo-in for today's TinyTuesday on the subject of music (he's approx 12 cms long).  Many thanks to MaryElizaR for hosting.

The rest of the day was a touch less exciting.  Charlie the plumber came at 10 to fix a dripping bathroom tap, which turned into something rather more serious.  All fixed now, but expensive - phew!

Have a happy evening  xx

PS: have I got the tag right for today - there seems some confusion???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.