Sisters!

C was due to have the baby induced today but at 5.30am the phone went, she had gone into labour and could I go over and look after I. I hurriedly got ready and got to the car - there was thick frost on the windscreen that I had to scrape off then I got to the level crossing - there was a train coming. 

When I got to their house there was an ambulance outside.  The maternity department has moved to Telford 40 miles away and there was no way that they would make it in time.

A second ambulance arrived and came to help.  I was in the kitchen and I was still asleep upstairs when I heard the first cry of the baby. She was born at 6.45 am. Another ambulance arrived - they were disappointed that it had all happened before they got there.  I was amazed to see 3 ambulances when in the winter, people were waiting many hours for one.

O brought the baby in for me to see and then took her to wake I.  Great excititement!!  When she got up and was dressed, a paramedic took her to sit in the ambulance cab and switch on the blue lights!

The baby is named Evelyn after my nan, mum and her cousin. Mum and Nan would have been so thrilled! She weighed 7lb 13oz. Then  off to Telford in one of the ambulances where they spent all day in hospital being checked.

I was very excited and as we walked to school told every passer by about the baby - even the postman.

They returned this evening when we both had chance to hold the baby. 
My blip is of the two sisters, the extras are of the family and one of the paramedic that delivered the baby in the living room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.