A Day in San Francisco

We drove up to see the Ansel Adams show at the DeYoung Museum, which is located in Golden Gate Park. It was a very difficult exhibit to see. Literally. The lighting was poor, and when will presenters get over eight point type? It was so stressful to try and read any of the commentary, and even to squint at those remarkable images. The hundred or so of his prints were hung “in conversation with” photos taken by contemporary artists as well as some who preceded him. It was meant to show his relevance today, and to examine his legacy to the environment, but we both found it a little confusing. His photos are stunning, of course, and being reminded of his process and the zone system and the complexity of his gear was sobering as I pulled out my phone to take a few shots of things I wanted to remember. 

We sure had fun walking around the park, especially the section called the Golden Mile. A section of JFK Drive has been permanently closed to traffic and turned into an urban playground for kids, families, dogs, pedestrians, and bikers. It was a complete surprise to see this transformation of the road. One of the attractions is a piano placed on a bridge in front of the Conservatory of Flowers. Anyone can play, as long as you don’t mind a few keys that stick. Mr S actually has memorized a couple of pieces to play in situations just like this, a feat of which I am not capable.

The highlight for me was seeing the three Doggy Diner heads that have been restored and mounted in the middle of the street. I don’t think I ever ate there, but the heads were landmarks that I loved.  I still say, “Turn left at Doggy Diner,” even though it’s been gone for years and years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.