Windswept

It may just be a herring gull, but at least I’m taking a photograph of something beyond the house or garden. 

I’m feeling marginally better today - at least I can walk a short distance without being bent over and I actually manage some menial tasks, even though they take a ridiculous amount of time. The weather is gorgeous - if cold - and G suggests a short run in the car. He’s offered this before, but up to now I’ve just not felt up to it. 

We drive the few miles to Llanddulas beach and park facing the sea. We sit in the car, roof down, enjoying the sun and watching two seagulls on the rocks as we have our hot chocolate and Tracker bar; hardly a picnic, but it’s wonderful to be out of the house.  

I don’t move from the car, but enjoy photographing the birds as they drink from a pool on the sea wall. Always easy to just dismiss as pests, they really are quite magnificent birds with their sleek, close plumage, bright eyes and coloured beaks.  I’m torn between the  windswept bird, plumage in disarray; and the less-than-pristine one with water dripping from his beak and carried behind him by the wind. 

Delightful as it is to be out by the sea, soon I’ve had enough and we return home. But I’m really hoping that the small improvements made today are the first steps to recovery; thank you all again for your continuing kindness. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.