Conwy Castle

Despite the apparent improvement yesterday, today brings a very different turn of events. 

Things start quite well. G drives me to Conwy for today’s Wide Wednesday shot. I do get out of the car, but walking is a real struggle so it’s only a few steps. Still, I get my view if an ‘old building’ - and Conwy Castle is hard to beat for antiquity. I try to avoid the tubular railway bridge - unsightly but still old (designed by Robert Stephenson and opened in 1849), but even from this angle it’s pretty much impossible. 

Back home - and the more sensitive amongst you may wish to stop reading now - it becomes increasingly impossible to pass urine, something that’s been causing pain for days. Eventually I realise it’s time to go to A&E - something I’ve dreaded for obvious reasons. 

On arrival, the screen indicates a wait time of 5 hours, but my ‘urgent case’ means I’m triaged within an hour, and a further hour after that, I’m seen by a doctor who has the looks and disposition of Rasputin. He and a nurse then spend some 30 minutes trying to catheterise me without success. A member of the surgical team is sent for, but that will be another hour. 

Eventually, I’m seen by a urologist- much to my relief, but there ensues a further agonising struggle to perform the procedure. Finally, he succeeds, and I’m not sure which of us is more amazed at the 2 litres of liquid that is expelled from my bladder.  I must have a very high pain threshold, he tells me. 

I’m now being kept in overnight to be reviewed, scanned etc tomorrow - although as yet there is no bed so I’m left sitting in the packed A&E waiting room with a catheter bag strapped to my leg. It’s 11.30 and I’ve sent poor G home ….. I may be sitting here all night, and after tonight’s struggles, sitting is not comfortable to say the least! 

So uncharacteristically, I’m posting today’s blip on the actual day but I probably won’t get to looking at your journals tonight. 

Many thanks for your kind words and your response to my windswept gull of yesterday. And thanks to Bobsblips for hosting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.