JackyMT

By JackyMT

My Cherry Blossom Tree

I see this every time I look out of my bedroom window. Mum bought it for me from Woolworths (remember that store, it always smelled of wood and polish) when I moved here  in 1971 53 years ago,  so it is a very special tree.  I had it topped 2 years ago and wish I hadn't  because it was a much nicer shape, now the branches are all thin but at least it's flowered this year.
We are going to cut back the Laurel bush as it's too big, it's about 10 to 12 ft tall, but we will leave it about 5ft tall, there's Elderberry tree growing in it as well which needs to come out, not sure where I am going to dispose of all the branches, it will take me ages to cut them all up. Good job we have a chain saw.

My Apple tree is absolutely full of blossom this year, last year I only got 4 apples from it. The russet which went mad with apples last year is not as full this year so having a bit of a rest I think. The Plum tree was full to bursting "again" with blossom but last year no plums so who knows what this year will bring.

I remarked the other day how many sycamore shoots were coming up all over the lawn and garden in the pots everywhere, and there was a report about it on the News today saying how they are toxic to horses. It was because of the hot summer last year.

We had our Covid Booster yesterday, been OK just a bit of a sore spot on my arm yesterday but fine today.

Kirsty finally had her tooth out today, she had 6 injections, her mouth is all swollen, but she said the Oral Surgeon she saw was really nice and she put her at ease, because she is terrified of dentists after a bad experience when she was 12.

Bit dull today and a bit cool but  it's still only April, what's the saying "March Winds, then April Showers, bring forth May Flowers."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.