West Cheshire & North Wales Chamber of Commerce

The football club hosted a networking meeting for West Cheshire and North Wales Chamber of Commerce this lunchtime. I was asked to do a talk about the club for them. I didn't know what to expect and there was a turnout of around 70 people. It seemed to go down well and this is the club's general manager, Georgina, introducing me.

Album of the Day - Mott the Hoople (1969)

This completes my aim of listening to 50 albums by different artists from the 1960s which proved to be a lot harder than I thought. 

Some of the albums like those by the Beatles, Neil Young, Scott Walker and the Beach Boys were ones I was familiar with and I knew I liked them. Some were chosen because I liked a single but in many cases I thought the material was stretched thin over a whole album eg The Monkees, Mamas and Pappas and The Move. 

Many of them were in the 4 to 6 out of 10 range so I might listen to the Dusty Springfield, David Bowie, Marvin Gaye and Aretha Franklin albums again but not  Leonard Cohen, Pink Floyd, the Temptations or Bob Dylan. 

The most disappointing albums were Joni Mitchell and Van Morrison. I was very surprised by Astral Weeks because I thought I would enjoy it but didnt like it at all. On the flip side the Small Faces, Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band and the Rolling Stones all lived up to expectations.

The most interesting ones were the albums I thought I would try that proved to be much better than I expected. Included in this section were  Mott the Hoople, the Yardbirds and the Kinks. However the big surprise was Days of Future Passed from the Moody Blues for which I didn't hold out much hope for but which I really enjoyed.

For my next 50 albums I'm just going for a general mix

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.