Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

This is not an Osprey

I read yesterday that an Osprey had been sighted on a nesting platform that had been built at Ranworth Broad so I decided to go down for a look.  It turns out I can say that I saw an Osprey, but there was no chance of getting any photos.  The platform was at the far end of the broad about half a mile away, but the wardens had set up a scope pointing at it and through it I could clearly see the Osprey standing on the platform.  They are hopeful it might breed; lone Ospreys are not uncommon but last year a pair spent quite some time at the broad so the nesting platform has been built in the hope they may become the first pair to breed there for over 250 years.

A nice morning so I hung around to take a few pictures.  There was a pair of Great Crested Grebes performing their mating display nearby; this is a shot of them but taken at the full extent of my lens so not as clear as it might be.  I've also added an extra of a family of ducklings that were near the visitor centre.

Walking from the car park to the reserve I ran my 'Merlin' bird app and picked up 17 different birds, including my first cuckoo of the year.  If anybody is interested in what I heard, I've listed them below.

Blackbird
Blue tit
Carrion crow
Chaffinch
Chiffchaff
Cuckoo
Goldcrest
Goldfinch
Greenfinch
Greylag goose
Nuthatch
Robin
Common tern
Treecreeper
Willow warbler
Woodpigeon
Wren

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.