pipflash1

By pipnat51

116/365. Frog

Another nice day here, albeit without much sunshine, but no rain. It meant that I could spend time out in the garden again and finally finish off the borders and tidying up the out of control shrubs that weren't dug up. After that it was sorting out more firewood.

The frog in the photo is Royal Crown Derby I'm informed. It currently resides on the Welsh Dresser although he has moved a few times over the course of the fifteen years that we have lived here.

He looks dressed up in all his finery so it got me wondering if he's looking for a partner and that led me on to trying to remember the nursery rhyme "Froggy Went A Courtin' ". Of course I couldn't so looked it up and although I haven't posted the words here there is a small intro about it, as follows.

Originally from Scotland, “Froggy Went A Courtin” is now a very popular American folk-song and nursery rhyme.

The rhyme first appeared in 1548 titled “The frog came to the myl dur” (Scots language) in Wedderburn’s Complaynt of Scotland. The song was first recorded by Thomas Ravenscroft in 1611.

Basically he woos and eventually marries Miss Mousey I believe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.