Sisters of Mercy

I had to nip into Skibbereen today to spend my book token given to me by Skib Historical Society. I treated myself to Abandoned Ireland and have only had a quick glance through so far, but I like the way she has approached this - documenting rather than trespassing!  and the photos look very good.
Whilst in Skib there was plenty of opportunity to blip away at a few old buildings, today's Wide Wednesday Challenge.  In the end I went for the very sad sight that is the Convent of Mercy. This  massive 8 acre site is in the centre of town was built in the late 1850s and the first four sisters, led by Re Mother Philomena, entered in May 1860. One of the architects was Edward Pugin, eldest son of the more famous Augustus. It was very grand in its day and behind it were gardens where the sisters grew their food and further behind was a primary school and a secondary school, Mercy Heights.  The convent closed in 2003 and it was allowed to fall into disrepair. The schools too were abandoned and still remain, derelict and forlorn. In 2021 a fire ripped through the old buildings. Since then there have been various plans to restore it but all have fallen by the wayside.  This is what it looked like  in 2019.

I know NickyR has been watching the Diplomat but has any one else indulged? We are so enjoying it, very well drawn, great characters and slyly humorous. 

It has to be Leonard Too many links today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.