Look Out Below ...

... I might not be in complete control!

I've been looking forward to a visit to the Isle of May for a while now and it worked out well because trips in the last week have had to be cancelled due to the stormy conditions. It's been another lovely day although there was a little frost on my windscreen when I went down at about 7.30 am. I drove to North Berwick and arrived in plenty of time. The boat (a RIB with a cabin) left on time and although it seemed a bit of a bumpy ride, the trip went quite quickly taking approximately half an hour.

There are apparently 56,000 puffins on the island and I think I must have photographed most of them today. Of course there are plenty of other birds too, mostly seabirds but I did see a goldcrest hopping about on the rocks.  Probably a Scandinavian one on his way back home. On the way back we came via Bass Rock which has the largest colony of Northern gannets so there are a few more from there. I'll probably make an album of the trip when I get time to sort through them. By the way, if you were wondering, you don't get photos of puffins with sand eels in their bills this early in the season because although they're sitting on eggs, there aren't yet any young to feed so they don't have to run the gauntlet of the gulls.

It's the Wide on Wednesday challenge today hosted by BobsBlips. My birds don't really fit into the theme of 'Old Building' but there are some lovely old buildings on the island and I did take a shot of the low lighthouse. I've put that in as an extra, which is a bit cheeky but there you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.