A day in the life

By Shelling

Candlestick

A friend and former colleague from my old school is moving "home" to her roots in northern Sweden in a couple of weeks. She was the art-teacher at school and she is working in many materials, maybe she would call herself a sculptress mainly but she also paint pictures, mainly aquarelles.

I really like her candlesticks in concrete and I already have one that I bought some years ago, now I want another one, a little bit different, that use the same technique. She has gathered dried stems from the rhubarb flower, that can get really thick if you let them grow. I can't describe the details but she makes a mould from a bit of the stem that she chose and then pour concrete in the mould. This is what she gets, see extra for my old one. In the main you see the original rhubarb stem to the right, waxed so she can make a mould from it. 
She has a few huge moulds, that she used to make candlesticks almost a metre high, to stand on the floor of a church. 'm so impressed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.