Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Shining a light

Eighteen months ago, I was injured at a local eatery. This was my blip at the time.  I was backed into a corner and had no choice but to hire an attorney because the owner was totally uncooperative.

Last week, he finally heard from a lawyer on her behalf saying that at the time of my injuries, her business was not insured. The letter continued, saying that if a judgement were to be placed upon his client, she would simply declare bankruptcy. That would wipe her company of all debts.

My firm decided that it would not be prudent to continue  since she could easily follow through with her threat. Now I have medical bills for which I am responsible, but will try to get waived. She waited until she was served court papers to tell us. I feel really bad for my lawyer. He put a ton of work into my case.

I'm not done, though!

I may have a lawyer in the pipeline who could take a different approach. It's not the money at all. It's the principle. People need to take responsibility for their actions - or inaction.
---------------------
I combed through a lot of idiot jokes. This one really cracked me up:

Two idiots are painting the roof of the barn when it catches on fire. The only way down is to jump into the manure pile.

The first idiot says, “I’ll jump first and tell you how deep it is.” He jumps, and a few seconds later the second idiot hears, “it’s only ankle deep!”

The second idiot jumps and says, “What on earth? I’m up to my neck in manure!”

And the first idiot says, “Well,  you jumped feet first.“

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.