A visitor

I was walking around the building, taking shots of what is now flowering, when I spotted this mallard duck sitting calmly on the rim of the fountain on the drive.  I took some shots from a distance, fearing he would fly off if I got too close, but he remained unperturbed as I got closer.  I haven't seen a duck here for quite a while, so it was a nice surprise.

The tenant in 201 has left the building.  I walked by her porch and none of her plants, pots or hangings were there.  It was just empty.  I'm a bit sad about this, as I always enjoyed her doorway displays and the creativity of her porch decor.  I hope that, wherever she's gone, she's happy.

I've got a chili on the stove.  I didn't really feel up to it, but there's nothing left in the freezer.  So it was a matter of cut up a vegetable, go sit down, cut up a vegetable, go sit down, etc.  Because the pot is so very full with all the extra vegetables I put in, as usual, it's not getting to the simmer as quickly as I'd like.  But once it's hot enough, I can leave it on the heat until midnight and then let it sit on the stove cooking in the residual heat until the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.