I Witness

By KangaZu

Wild Wednesday ...

... Eastern Black Swallowtail.

As I mentioned yesterday one of our over-wintered black swallowtails emerged.  It was the first of the season.  We kept him overnight as it was much too cold and late to release him yesterday.

When we went to release him today we found another had emerged in the same butterfly enclosure!  So it was two that we had to release today.  We put them on our neighbor's lilac tree at first.  But I wasn't happy with the pictures there so I placed this one temporarily in the grass on a small purple flower.  Ironically I liked this picture taken with my smartphone better than any of the others taken with the Nikon!  This picture shows the underside of his wing.  

We are both very busy around the house getting ready for an upcoming vacation.  Lots of cleaning and such.  Richard had a dentist appointment in the morning that he went out for .... but I didn't go anywhere today.  No walk today as we were just too busy.  But that doesn't mean we didn't get any exercise as cleaning is great cardio!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.