JulesB

By JulesB

In the footsteps of the Pilgrims

A change of venue today as we moved up the coast to Lindisfarne, a place very close to my heart. It was our second visit and today I decided to walk the path across the sands, guided by the poles, following in the footsteps of many pilgrims. As is traditional I walked barefoot.  It was an interesting walk, at first I tried to avoid the pools of water and use the drier patches but as I walked I realised that the water pools were the most comfortable places to walk as the water was slightly warming and felt less hard on my feet. The middle was rather muddy and I managed to stumble and  then stepped in a muddy patch up to my knee but no harm was done. My hubby, having used the road, was waiting at the end with a bottle of water and an old towel so I could wash my feer. As usual bemused by my antics but ever supportive!
We arrived late to the castle for a look around but were warmly welcomed. Then a short walk and a warm shower at our rather luxurious home for hte next two nights. The pub awaits with our evening meal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.