Two Ticks on One Day

Back Blip uploaded 27th April 2023

Ok, so I'm not a birder, or a twitcher... honest. But hey, I'm starting to see the addiction.

Having left Chester early in the morning we decided the motorway was for people with no time for fun, and we hit the country roads through mid-Wales. We stopped at Lake Vyrnwy, and walked part of the peripheral paths around this huge reservoir, and dropped in on the RSPB reserves.

As an aside... the roads here are bloody wonderful! If anyone knows of a chap local to me who has a bike and a penchant for photographing birds, tell him we need to take a few days away from the madding crowd (cough) sometime soon.

So anyway, both these birds were in the wild and I found them near the Centenary Bird Hide at the north of the lake. We'd already seen and photographed Nuthatches, Siskins, Greenfinches, Woodpeckers, Chaffinches and Goldfinches (been there done that), but these two are new to me.

The Pied Flycatchers in the extra (remember I thought I'd seen one a while back?) were very happy to be photographed, while the Marsh Tit in the main was flying back and forth taking food in and removing waste from its hole in a birch tree. 

I still have several hundred images to prune yet, but I'm almost back to real time blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.