RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

The daffodil door

It arrived; it was installed. 

It is phenomenally heavy and took three careful men a lot of time and effort to instal. You can't really see from this angle but its position is such that its oak threshold makes very little of the the stone step in front of the door usable - the accessible part is now dangerously shallow and is an illegal fall hazard.

I was interested to listen to my site manager on the subject. In redacted précis: it is not the fault of the door manufacturers nor the installers but the fault of the architect who didn't design for this detail. He told me he usually likes working with architects because their drawings make it clear how things will fit together and what he needs to do but in this case... (There was a similar problem with the windows.)

He told me to be extremely careful over the weekend and we will discuss a solution on Monday.

Anyway, I'm pleased with it. It moves and locks with precision and I think the diagonal routing, echoing what was on my previous door (see yesterday), is a homage to the past without being stuck in Victoriana.

For more on yellow, see here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.