RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

So near...

Big day: my own broadband! All the time I've lived in this house my data has come through tethering from my phone. Today was broadband installation day. Not only that - superfast fibre. 

I chose fibre partly because there's a good introductory deal but mostly because when I contacted broadband providers a few months ago to talk about getting broadband into a passive house - heavily insulated and made airtight with a membrane that must not be punctured between the outside and inside - NetOmnia took my questions seriously and treated me like a human being while BT/OpenReach were patronising and parroted irrelevant answers to questions I hadn't asked. It is not possible to speak to OpenReach's engineers before they arrive at your house to do an installation. I did eventually have a human-to-human conversation with someone based in Dundee who sighed very heavily when I recounted my experience of his colleagues but even he said that, idiotically, OpenReach engineers don't talk in advance of an installation.

Anyway, NetOmnia arrived and installed the connection between the telegraph pole and my house but they were not able to complete the work because there wasn't yet plasterboard to attach the fragile fibre connection to. They had a grown-up conversation with the builders and agreed a date when everything will be in place for the installation - Friday week.

Meanwhile I continue to tether from my phone to receive and send emails, upload photos to Blipfoto, buy stuff, play Wordle, listen to the pieces I need to learn for choir and all the rest of life's basics.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.