Arachne

By Arachne

Rescued glass

The story of the day - the front door - is here.

I asked the door installers to be incredibly careful of the stained glass that was above my old front door and although it was very fragile and some of the lead had come apart, they got it out safely. I wrapped it in heavy cardboard and bubble wrap and at some stage in my future I will restore it and instal it elsewhere in the house but it is very low priority at the moment.

The rest of the day I did more unpacking and sorting and I'm interested to find that things seem to know where they want to be. My kitchen stuff almost all seemed to have a ready-make place and my laptop has made itself a bench under the window in the small bedroom where I had thought I'd put my sewing machine. Nope - the room doesn't want it and it doesn't want to go in there. It's frustrating because there's a quick, easy sewing job I want to do and it seems that to do it I'm going to have to clear the table in the kitchen that thinks it wants to be the dining table.

I went out through the new front door this evening for a choir rehearsal with a large group of Italians who arrived this afternoon from Padua. We are doing two concerts with them this weekend.

It was a treat to come back in through the front door afterwards too. (I will soon get sufficiently used to this that I won't have to write about it.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.