NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Pain Clinic Appointment and a Dose of Hope!

Today has been a very long but hopeful day.

My long awaited Pain Clinic appointment with the Pain Consultant at Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary. I feel incredibly grateful tonight. Today has been very emotional for me.

After thirteen years of chronic pain - fibromyalgia and joint hypermobility syndrome - and 9 years of being diagnosed, I am finally feeling liking I am starting to turn a corner with my pain management.

The consultant I saw was amazingly professional, empathetic and has agreed to make a referral for pain management to Glasgow which I hope will have a positive impact on my life.

The Administrative Team were fantastic too. I am exempt from wearing a mask due to my asthma and I didn’t feel pressured to wear one. 

I never feel anxious about using the disabled toilets at DGRI. I feel there is more of a positivity around invisible illnesses such as fibromyalgia. 

My breathing Is still not fully back to normal levels for me following Covid and the chest infection. I’m incredibly glad that I have only had Covid once so far. I sincerely hope never again!

I felt so anxious this morning when I awoke at 5.45am. I usually wake around that time due to my pain levels. At this time of year, it is often nearer 4am or 5am.

I took things as easy as I could this morning and had a hearty breakfast of coffee and porridge with honey.

I’m still battling the Long Covid energy zap. It is so incredibly exhausting on top of my chronic conditions.

Feeling very, very exhausted and in utter agony but happy for pushing through the pain, fatigue and anxiety to attend my much awaited appointment. 

Unfortunately, I had this appointment cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances in mid April which really affected my mood.

I’m heading to bed at nearly Midnight feeling incredibly grateful for the NHS and even more grateful for my determined spirit.

I plan to play catch up with all your kind comments, hearts and stars over the weekend. Have a good one! :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.