Sebulon

By sebrose

Allotments

The day starts in Oxford. The house is quiet. The allotments over the river lurk invitingly from the bathroom window. I get back to Bedwyn before ten, only to find I’ve left my jacket behind.

Adam phones to ask if I can get the 11:57 train to meet Holly at Marylebone. That gives me 12 minutes to get to the station. Luckily, I’ve already packed my bag.

I say a hurried goodbye, ask Joanna to accompany me to the station, and head off in mum’s car. I get there in plenty of time, but the ticket machine is unable to retrieve previously paid for tickets. I board the train anyway - and no one asks for my ticket at any point.

A quick walk from Paddington to Marylebone, and I’m waiting at the exits as Holly’s train arrives. She’s a bit hungover, but has my jacket safely stowed in her bag. Just as well - it has my car keys in it.

The ticket office provides me with the necessary hard copy and I continue my journey to High Brooms.

It’s warm and sunny as I walk from the station to Tim and Karen’s house. Tim finishes some weeding, before we head to the pub - the serving allotment of the day (extra). Karen joins us (extra) and we spend a happy hour watching the sky darken and listening to children rampage about the dilapidated pub garden.

Collecting Sam, the dinner destination is The Spice. The brinjal bhaji is average, the tarka dahl is dry and tasteless, and there’s too much cream in the mutter paneer. Not bad, but not special.

Back at the ranch, Sam packages up £300 football boots. Tim lights the chiminee at the bottom of the garden and the adults listen to a flashing ghetto blaster at low volume.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.