Windmill 'De Oude Molen', Wijchen

'Wijchen' = 'Wikkun'
Normally, we would say 'wike-un' or 'waaikun', but in local dialect, which then becomes known in the rest of the country, it's 'wikkun' or 'wikken'.  Almost 'wicked'.
'Oude' = 'owduh' = 'old' (adj.).  In short, this is the old mill.  Not sure there's a 'new' mill, and also not sure I'd call this 'old' as it was constructed only in 1799, which is not that old if one considers that several really old mills were built in the 1600s and early 1700s.  But I won't quibble, a little more than 200 years is also 'old'.

The morning was grey in the southern part of the country, and then AW had a Saturday bridge tournament with the partner he used to play with on Wednesday evenings, so it was only after he got back that I could leave.  Thankful for the afternoon sun!

As you can see, this is one of those mills on a hill, and the whole area is a favourite for dog walkers.  Fortunately, it was facing the field below it, and the roads around that field.  Otherwise, I wouldn't have been able to take a frontal shot, as behind it, down the hill, are the backyards of the row of houses in the neighbourhood, surrounded by thick, impenetrable bushes, and although there was a path to be seen, the branches would have blocked the view.

Back home, once sat in front of my laptop, I heard a 'ping' and it was a student who wanted feedback on the latest assignment.  No problem.  Then I thought I'd check my mail since I was already logged in anyway, and lo and behold, an email informing me that access to the system would be cut off tomorrow.  Without any hesitation, I did a number of things -- 1) opened up the official assignment so that students could already submit even though the deadline is 12 May and I'd previously said I'd open it on the 6th, explaining why (a handful immediately took advantage of the situation and submitted already!); 2) a short email to the boss, the IT head, and the employment agency.  There is no need to panic, but I did tell the students I could give feedback before they handed it in, which I won't be able to do if I lose access.  Bright side of this -- I will really not have to work in the May break!  That said, this could also just be a case of an automated reminder someone forgot to turn off.  We shall see.  No reason for a sleepless night.

Before the hunt, cleaned both toilets + bathroom, kitchen duties, laundry duties, and some gaming and colouring in between.  There really is enough to do even if I don't check schoolwork.  There are also a number of fabulous plans for next week, and I'm looking forward to cooperative weather where I'm going.  Thankful for a sense of balance.

Thank you for visiting yesterday!  Might spend part of next week looking for a similar vase as it is indeed a lovely specimen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.