Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The great train race

As you can see, the weather held.  There was a massive storm that went through last night with thunder and lightning but it turned out to be a lovely day.  The sort where clouds were flitting above racing their shadows, if you know what I mean.

So I decided to have a look at the great train race.  Four engines leaving Newy and racing to Maitland.  Thrown into the mix was a tiger moth.  It took ages for them to ensure that the line was safe and line the trains up and start.  Two trains were running on the wrong tracks (going the wrong way on the track) so I suppose it was very necessary.    

I was standing next to a train spotter (who had come up from the Central Coast) who was watching it live stream so was giving us all a run down on what was happening and filling me in with things like wrong tracks etc.   It was standing room only at Metford station where I am here.   It was rush to see and hear them chugging along and blowing their whistles.

I then went on to Maitland but didn't really see many of the trains, it was a bit hard as I had Maggy and didn't go down to the platforms.   It's been a relaxing afternoon after that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.