Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

May Day basket

ApolloFly has set the theme of tradition.   Well today is May 1 and in time honoured tradition (since I was advised by Freespiral some years ago) I washed my face with dew this morning.  Fortunately, in these colder mornings there is plenty of dew for washing.

Apparently May Day is the halfway point between the Autumn equinox and Winter Solstice or vicky verka if you are in the Northern Hemisphere and there are a number of traditions associated with it mainly Springtime including dancing around a maypole and a number of festivities.   Here it is also the tradition for unions to march however they did that yesterday.  

I got together a May Day basket with my Autumn flowers.  I found some white anenomes, the sasanquas are just coming out, tibouchina (my neighbours), salvias and chinese lanterns.  And there you have it.  Freespiral says flowers are left on the doorstep to appease the fairies.  I hope this does the trick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.