WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Break for the Borders

I made use of the Metro this morning and wore two of them. I was fairly certain it would warm up enough for me to cycle without them. Sure enough, by Carlisle it was warming up nicely and I pulled them out of my cycling layers and read a bit of junk before alighting the train. I then rode a flat, leisurely 15 miles to fetch Beryl home.

But not without taking her on an adventure first! We’ve driven to Newcastleton (I say we, that’s me and Beryl). 

Pushing a little fatigue to one side, I selected my shorter ride and headed west up the wonderful long incline of Tinnis Hill.  It had wilderness and wildlife to a perfect level. Buzzards, meadow pipits and a few stonechats along with thirteen moorland goats, including four very cute kids.

The forecast had predicted a sunny evening which seems to mean cloudy with occasional heavy shower here (much like Yorkshire, I guess!) But, I was homeward bound by that point and it didn’t last too long. I didn’t rush. I’m hoping to get out tomorrow but let’s see how the legs are because frankly, I’m bushed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.